Teaching Practice

Grade 9-Masinop, Awesome Class!

MY TEACHING PLANNING!

To start a learning plan, we must have guidelines. yes, the guidelines are Curriculum. For my teaching practice, I used 2 curriculum, there are K13 (Indonesian Curriculum) and K to 12 (Philippines Curriculum). So, I got an assignment from my mentor teacher to make 2 lesson plan formats namely Indonesia and the Philippines format. so that, I used 2 curriculum, there are K13 (Indonesian Curriculum) and K to 12 (Philippines Curriculum). The Lesson Plan from Indonesia and the Philippines is quite different. In the Philippines, the Lesson Plan is divided into two namely:
1. Semi Detailed
2. Detailed
The difference between the two of the content of the lesson plan. Semi Detailed only contains the core activities of learning, while the Detailed format is so complicated because all conversations conducted by students and teachers in class must be listed here. Fortunately, my mentor teacher assigned us only to make a semi-detailed format lesson plan. How lucky I am! Ha ha ha ha. On the first day to the second, I taught using an Indonesian format lesson plan. Meanwhile, on the third and fourth days, I taught using the Filipino format lesson plan (Semi-Detailed)

Generally, our procedures teaching:

  • Teachers giving Greetings,
  • Check the attendance by secretary of the class,
  • Cleanliness of the classroom
  • Collect the assignments (if there are any)
  • Review the last topics.
  • Give the motivational activity
  • Teacher give a presentation or little explanation and students will observe for the new perspective
  • For more information, Students will have a group discussion
  • Students do the activity
  • Students present their final activity
  • The teacher give inforcement
  • Students give conclusion or insights based on the discussion
  • Teacher will make a generalization based on the students’ conclusion and insights.
  • Teacher give assignments or quiz.

1. Monday, September 16 2019

It is my first day of teaching. I have never observed that in the Masinop class because the school had previously been busy with accreditation matters. So this is the first time meeting them too.

My first impression was seeing them, as if they were smiling and seemingly able to work with. Heheee. However, it looks like they are still awkward with me hahahaha

During the teaching process, I was really nervous because this was the first time teaching students using English huhuhu. Especially here we were only given 1 hour to complete several subtopics, How challenging day!!!!!! 😀

At this first meeting, I felt that I was still very unable to make them interactive maybe because I was too nervous and still needed to adapt to the situation and conditions in their class. In addition, I still have difficulty in time management, so that in the work process of student work sheets they are not yet finished. I am so sad 😦

2. Wednesday, September 18 2019

This is my second day teaching. Yes, yesterday’s problem must disappear today. So, to be more interactive. I made a colorful media so that it could be eye catching, It turned out that it could really attract their attention. I am very happy to teach today, they are also not a bit awkward anymore hahahaha. But again, my problem in time management is that there are some learning parts that I don’t do. I admit, teaching 1 hour is hard !!!!

3. Thurday, September 19 2019

In this day, I can interact better with them. Joking, telling stories, there is no awkwardness with each other. During the study, I felt that I enjoyed the 1 hour more hahaha. In the past 1 hour it felt like a long time ago, but today I can enjoy it all. Maybe because I have got a good relationship with them. Today I teach the discussion method again but I don’t know why the discussion again does not help my learning. They are not able to be invited to discuss, so sometimes I who provide a lot of information in front of the class. Supposedly, learning is centered on students rather than the teacher. Yes, every day there are problems that I get!

4. Friday, September 20 2019

Okay. Because today is the last day! let’s muster all our abilities!

Today I have another discussion, so determined I hahaha! because before, the discussion that I did was not successful hahaha. But, today I think I managed to control the discussion pretty well, everything went according to plan. Because, I use the Number Head Together (NHT) model. So each student has a number and is required to work on the problem according to the number he gets. So that the class is more conducive and all students are active.

At the end of the lesson too, I applied the Talking Stick as my evaluation material while playing the Senorita song, they learned while singing hahaha. My class felt really exciting on that day.

I feel happier than the previous horror days, Hahahaha! I’ve gotten attention for them, and vice versa.

5. Tuesday, 24 September 2019

Today is their day for an exam on a topic that I have been discussing for 1 week! I am happy that many of them have good grades, although there are also some students who have not reached their targets. But, never mind, I think that’s normal. Unfortunately, I could not give them more explanation on how to get the right answer because at that time we only had a few days left to prepare for the closing ceremony.

Leave a comment